## REGULAR BOARD MEETING February 13, 2017

The Pelican Rapids Board of Education held a regular meeting on February 13, 2017 in the board room at the high school at 6:30 p.m. Board members present: Kathy Ouren, Dena Johnson, Jon Karger, Mike Forsgren, Charlie Blixt, Anne Peterson. Board members absent: None. Others present: Superintendent Wanek, Brian Korf, Dr. Ed Richardson, Derrick Nelson, Barb Ripley, CJ Holl, Cary Haugrud, Lou Hoglund, Teressa Schlieman, Mandy Tollerud Nadine Brown, Abby Johnson, Lorena Diaz.

The meeting was called to order and the Pledge of Allegiance was led by Charlie Blixt.

Dena Johnson moved to approve the agenda with the following addition:

Item J. Open discussion on various topics as requested The motion was seconded by Jon Karger and carried.

Jon Karger moved to approve the consent agenda consisting of the following items:

Approve minutes of the regular January 17, 25, 31 meetings Approve payment of the 1/31 and February bills as presented Approve donations: To scholarships in memory of Cecil Femling-Kris & Gary Dillon - \$10 To scholarships in memory of Dave Gilbertson-Kris & Gary Dillon - \$10 To scholarships in memory of Jim Handorff, Keith Haugrud, Tess Carlson, Dianne Kimm-Glenn & Colleen Moerke - \$50 To scholarships-Dakota Supply Group - \$200 To Valkyrie Activity-Brent & JoAnn Frazier - \$300 Personnel: Hire Ashlee Olson as long term sub for Rebecca Castillo from January 17 to approximately March 7<sup>th</sup> Approve the agreement with Lakes Country Service Cooperative for Technology Integration Specialist services for 2016-17

The motion was seconded by Mike Forsgren and carried.

Dena Johnson moved to approve the 2016 Pay Equity Report. The motion was seconded by Anne Peterson and carried.

Mike Forsgren moved to approve the senior privileges as presented. The motion was seconded by Dena Johnson and carried.

Dena Johnson moved to approve the 2018 Achievement & Integration budget as presented as direct Charlie Blixt to sign the final budget when completed and submitted. The motion was seconded by Jon Karger and carried.

Charlie Blixt moved to approve the seniority list as presented. The motion was seconded by Kathy Ouren and carried.

Dena Johnson introduced the following resolution and moved its adoption:

## RESOLUTION DIRECTING THE ADMINISTRATION TO MAKE RECOMMENDATIONS FOR REDUCTIONS IN PROGRAMS AND POSITIONS AND REASONS THEREFOR.

WHEREAS, the financial condition of the school district dictates that the school board must reduce expenditures immediately, and

WHEREAS, there has been a reduction in student enrollment and,

WHEREAS, the reduction in expenditure and decrease in student enrollment must include discontinuance of positions and discontinuance or curtailment of program, and

WHEREAS, a determination must be made as to which teachers' contracts must be terminated and not renewed and which teachers may be placed on unrequested leave of absence without pay or fringe benefits in effecting discontinuance of positions,

BE IT RESOLVED, by the School Board of Independent School District No. #548 as follows:

That the School Board hereby directs the Superintendent of Schools and administration to consider the discontinuance of programs or positions to effectuate economies in the school district and reduce expenditures and as a result of reduction in enrollment, make recommendations to the school board for the discontinuance of programs, curtailment of programs, discontinuance of positions or curtailment of positions.

The motion was seconded by Anne Peterson and upon a vote being taken the following voted in favor:

Charlie Blixt, Mike Forsgren, Dena Johnson, Jon Karger, Kathy Ouren, Anne Peterson And the following voted against:

None

Whereupon the resolution was adopted.

Jon Karger moved to approve Dr. Ed Richardson as LEA Representative for 2016-17. The motion was seconded by Mike Forsgren and carried.

Charlie Blixt moved to approve the second reading of Policies 504, 505, and 506. The motion was seconded by Dena Johnson and carried.

Dena Johnson moved to approve a Long Term Leave of Absence for Superintendent Deborah Wanek beginning on 7/1/17 and that the school district will pay the district portion of the TRA

from July 1, 2017 to December 31, 2017 not to exceed \$4,200 contingent on hiring a new superintendent. The motion was seconded by Jon Karger and carried.

Jon Karger moved to approve the MSBA's "Superintendent Search Brochure". The motion was seconded by Mike Forsgren and carried.

Jon Karger moved that it is the school board's intention to return to a 5 day school week for the 2018-19 school year contingent on final review of the budget after completion of negotiations, legislative decisions, student enrollment and student achievement numbers in December of 2017. The motion was seconded by Dena Johnson and carried.

The meeting was adjourned at 8:17 pm.

Charlie Blixt, Chair

Mike Forsgren, Clerk